RSL Auxiliaries

Patron: Mr Dennis Wilson

RSL Auxiliary logo

History of the RSL Auxiliaries

The Australian Imperial Service of Women’s Auxiliary was formed in Phillip Street, Sydney by mothers, wives, widows, sisters, daughters and aunts of men who served in the Australian Imperial Forces in the First World War (1914-1918).

The auxiliaries grew from this beginning to raise money for the welfare of men and women who served and their widows and families.

Today, the RSL NSW Auxiliary volunteers have overcome society biases and comprise of men and women who work to raise funds for the wellbeing of current and ex-serving members of the ADF and their families.

Auxiliary volunteers visit veterans in the hospital, in aged care facilities, assist with sub-Branch commemoration activities, and cater for sub-Branch events.

First Congress

In 1947, at the Annual State Congress of The Returned and Services League of Australia (NSW Branch) (RSL NSW), a resolution was formed that an Annual Congress of all Women’s Auxiliaries be convened under the auspices of the RSL.

On 18 August 1948, Mr. K. Todd OBE, Country Vice-President of RSL NSW held the first Returned and Services League Women’s Auxiliary Congress at the Young Women’s Christian Association, Liverpool Street, Sydney.

There were 140 auxiliaries in attendance from all over NSW, approximately 3110 members. The first president was Mrs K Todd (1948-1949), Metropolitan Vice-President, Mrs Pat Maitland, State Treasurer Mrs M. Hawkins and Mrs Gwen Richards as State Secretary.

Since that time, the auxiliary network has grown and worked tirelessly supporting veterans and their families in almost every corner of NSW.

In 2019, RSL NSW adopted a new constitution which allowed for the first time, members of the auxiliary network to enjoy formal membership of the League. The word ‘women’ was removed from the name of the auxiliaries in 2018, which opened membership to any person seeking to advance and support the charitable objects of our sub-Branches.

Purpose of The RSL Auxiliary

Similar to our sub-Branches, the RSL Auxiliary is a non-political non-sectarian organisation. It raises funds for the well-being of current and ex-serving members of the Australian Defence Force and their families. The members of the auxiliary also visit veterans in hospital, in aged care and those convalescing at home, assist with sub-Branch commemoration activities and often provide meals for sub-Branch functions and events.

The RSL Auxiliary raises funds to support the charitable objects of the sub-Branch by holding raffles, selling tokens during the ANZAC and Poppy Appeals, as well as other fundraising activities that arise throughout the year in their local community

RSL Auxiliaries were founded on fellowship and a desire to care for our veterans and this principle guides their existence to the present day. Members enjoy the friendship of like-minded people, visiting other auxiliaries when they hold functions, and being able to share ideas and ideals.




Become a Member

Discover over 90 Auxiliaries locations spread across NSW and become a part of us by filling out the application form below:

For further information, please contact the State Coordinator or the Deputy State Coordinator.

2023 RSL NSW Lady Woodward Cup

Contact Information

Pauline James OAM, RSL State Coordinator of RSL Auxiliaries – 0411 877 396

Sue Allen, Deputy RSL State Coordinator of RSL Auxiliaries – 0409 608 901

Bronte Pollard, Committee Member of RSL Auxiliaries – 0400 756 214

Administrative Support

Guidance for sub-Branches and auxiliary coordinators can be found in SOP 8 here. Further information is available in this circular and through the State Coordinator and Deputy State Coordinator.


Locations of RSL Auxiliaries
Where can I find RSL Auxiliaries?

Auxiliary Locations

  • ANZAC House
  • Balgowlah-Seaforth-Clontarf
  • Balmain/Rozelle
  • Baradine
  • Bass Hill
  • Berry
  • Bulahdelah
  • Bundeena
  • Burwood
  • Byron Bay
  • Callala Beach
  • Canterbury/Hurlstone Park
  • Cardiff
  • Casino
  • Castle Hill and District
  • City of Campbelltown
  • City of Fairfield
  • City of Lismore
  • City of Liverpool
  • City of Parramatta
  • City of Penrith
  • Coffs Harbour
  • Coonabarabran
  • Cumberland
  • Davistown
  • Doyalson/Wyee
  • Dubbo
  • East Maitland
  • Forestville
  • Gladesville
  • Gloucester
  • Gundagai
  • Harrington-Crowdy Head
  • Hornsby
  • Huskisson
  • Ingleburn
  • Inverell
  • Kempsey/Macleay
  • Kingsgrove
  • Lambton/New Lambton
  • Laurieton
  • Leeton
  • Lockhart
  • Maitland
  • Malabar
  • Manilla
  • Medowie
  • Moree
  • Mudgee
  • Mullumbimby
  • Mungindi
  • Nambucca Heads
  • Nelson Bay
  • Norfolk Island
  • Old Bar Beach
  • Parkes
  • Port Macquarie
  • Sawtell
  • Seven Hills-T/G-W/Ville
  • Singleton
  • South Hurstville
  • South West Rocks
  • St Marys
  • Stockton
  • Sussex Inlet
  • Taree
  • The Entrance/Long Jetty
  • Tilligerry
  • Toukley
  • Uralla
  • Wagga Wagga
  • Walcha
  • Wauchope
  • Wentworth and District
  • Windsor and District
  • Wingham
  • Woonona/Bulli
  • Woy Woy/Ettalong/Hardys Bay
  • Young
How do I contact my local Auxiliary?

Contact with the Auxiliary can be made via the sub-Branch. Click here to connect with your local RSL sub-Branch.