Circular 56/23 2023 RSL NSW Board Director Election Candidates

The independent Returning Officer has advised RSL NSW that the nominations for the 2023 RSL NSW Board closed at 12:00 Midday on Monday 21 August 2023.  

Sixteen candidates have met the eligibility criteria for the eight Elected Director positions at the close of nominations. Among these candidates, two candidates have put themselves forward for the position of President. Given the greater number of candidates than available positions, the next phase entails an election to determine the President and seven Elected Directors. 

In accordance with SOP 12, the Returning Officer conducted a draw by lot to determine the sequence in which candidates will appear on the ballot paper. The determined order is as follows: 


  1. Mick Bainbridge 
  2. David McCann

Elected Director  

  1. Paul Raymond James 
  2. Charles Harold New 
  3. Douglas Wayne Clarke 
  4. Sarah Watson 
  5. David McCann 
  6. Mick Bainbridge 
  7. Alvaro Charry 
  8. Jacinta Bessie Harmer 
  9. Howard Charles Bell 
  10. Martin Dutton 
  11. Philip Gerber 
  12. Peter John Watson 
  13. Louise Anne Sullivan 
  14. Phillip Chin 
  15. Jason Peter Hazell 
  16. Dennis Cowdroy 

Once candidate information is finalised, it will be available on the election website and in the September issue of Reveille, including instructions regarding online and postal voting.  

Voting will open at 12.00 midday on 12 September 2023 and close at 12.00 midday on 9 October 2023. 

If you have questions about the election process, please contact the Returning Officer by phone on 02 9105 1239 between 9 am and 5 pm, Monday to Friday, or by email at